State Laws: Kansas

by Lona Gorman

Read the text of the actual statute HERE.

Kansas does not specifically authorize homeschools; however, it does recognize non-accredited private schools. A non-accredited private school is one that satisfies the state’s compulsory attendance law but is not accredited by the state of Kansas.

All homeschools in Kansas are classified as non-accredited private schools, and homeschooling parents are required to register with the State Board of Education as non-accredited private schools. Registration is free and consists of completing a form including the name and address of the school and the name and address of the “custodian of records” for the school.

Kansas statute requires that courses are taught by a “competent instructor” but does not require a parent to be a licensed teacher.

The only paperwork requirement is registration with the State Board of Education. This is done only once when the school is established, unless the parent changes the school name or address, in which case a new form must be submitted. It is in the best interest of each homeschool to keep “accurate and complete” records of each child’s progress; however, no particular on-going records are mandated so each parent may decide what constitutes appropriate records for his/her own children.

Every parent of children between the ages of 7 and 18 must “require such children to...attend school.” However, compulsory attendance age may end at 16 or 17 with parental consent.

Non-accredited private schools are largely self-regulated. However, homeschool families should make sure to be in compliance...with the regulations in the statute pertaining to registration with the state – i.e., teaching by a “competent instructor,” complying with the compulsory attendance law, providing “class time”...“substantially equivalent” to the time public schools are in session.

There are no specific subject requirements.

The Kansas State Department of Education says that homeschool “[c]lasses must be held for a period of time substantially equivalent to the time public schools are in session. The time required for public schools is 186 days of not less than 6 hours per day, or 1116 hours per year for grades 1-11.” However, the law does not require parents to submit proof of time to any bureaucrat or agency.

No specific graduation requirements exist for non-accredited private schools; thus, parents are free to determine each child’s graduation requirements according to individual needs and preferences. The Kansas State Department of Education and the Teaching Parents Association (TPA) recommend using the graduation requirements for public school students if a child will seek qualified admissions to Kansas regents colleges, because students who graduate from non-accredited high schools have guaranteed admission to the five state universities by completing equivalent qualified admissions coursework – but the recommendation is not a legal mandate.

No standardized testing is required. However, TPA does recommend that college-bound high school students take either the ACT or SAT test as part of their college admissions process and for the purpose of earning scholarships. In fact, students who graduate from non-accredited high schools have guaranteed admission to the five state universities with an ACT score of 21 or higher or an SAT of 980 or higher.

Kansas law does not speak to vaccination requirements for homeschool students.


Dual Enrollment:
Homeschooled students may start dual enrollment in Kansas colleges beginning in “10th grade.”

Virtual Charter Schools:
Kansas has many virtual charter school options. While these schools appear to be flexible and offer free computers and curriculum, parents actually have no control over what their children learn or the curriculum used. Families find it difficult to enjoy any flexibility in their children’s schooling using this option. Further – and most importantly – these schools are actually a part of the public school system; children enrolled in them are counted as public school students, are subject to public school laws, and are not actually being homeschooled, legally speaking.

Part-time Public School Enrollment:
The question of whether or not homeschool students can attend classes at a public school is up to the discretion of individual school districts. Some smaller districts allow homeschool students to enroll but normally impose some type of requirements, such as requiring a certain number of hours spent in the school or vaccinations.

For the most part, Kansas colleges are friendly to homeschool students and make the application and registration process equivalent for homeschool students as for students from other educational backgrounds. A transcript from a homeschool is viewed to be just as valid as one from any other non-accredited private school.

Kansas homeschool families enjoy the flexibility to design an educational program that best fits each child. There are many support groups, educational co-ops, and various sports teams to support parents and add to the homeschool educational experience. Kansas also has two state groups – Midwest Parent Educators and Teaching Parents Association – which provide conventions, parent training, support events, and homeschool family events. The groups work together to provide Kansas families with resources and support to educate their children with excellence.


Lona Gorman has homeschooled for over 20 years, and teaching at home is her passion. She serves as a board member with the Teaching Parents Association and also serves as the organization’s Vendor & Workshop Coordinator for its annual homeschool convention, and as coordinator for events for parents, families, and children. Lona and her husband Jeff – TPA’s president – have been married for 30 years and have six adopted children; three have graduated through homeschooling and three more are still taught at home.